Gov. Broughton, eights others to be inducted into Raleigh Hall of Fame

J. Melville Broughton.

RALEIGH, N.C. (WNCN) – The Raleigh Hall of Fame, now in its twelfth year, has announced the nine individuals and two organizations it will honor as inductees.

J. Melville Broughton, the only Raleigh native to be elected governor of North Carolina (1941-45), leads the list that includes O. Temple Sloan Jr, the founder of CarQuest Auto Parts.

Others are Dr. Bill Brittain, who started the Lutheran Family Services of the Carolinas; Jill Staton Bullard, co-founder of the Inter-Faith Food Shuttle; Mary Jo Cresimore, a volunteer, leader and fundraiser for city’s arts and humanities; Dr. Anne McLaurin, who used her skills as a professional and a volunteer and promoter for healthcare, children and affordable housing; J.C. Raulston, who founded a local arboretum that is visited by more than 100,000 people yearly; Cliffornia Wimberely, an educator and activist who helped shape the Wake County Public School System; and Dr. Calvin Jones, the first physician in the state to inoculate people against smallpox.

The organizations to be honored are the Boys & Girls Clubs and Triangle Family Services.

The Induction Gala will be held Oct. 3 from 6 to 9 p.m. at the Raleigh Convention Center. Go to for more information.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s