Residents in 6 more NC counties eligible to apply for federal disaster relief funds

RALEIGH, N.C. (WNCN) — Residents in six more North Carolina counties are now eligible to apply for federal disaster assistance for losses or damage sustained to their homes or businesses during Hurricane Matthew.

Click for more images of Matthew and its aftermath
Click for more images of Matthew and its aftermath

Those in Dare, Duplin, Gates, Hyde, Jones, and Pender counties are now eligible to apply for the assistance.

Those six counties join 17 others in which residents are able to apply for the federal funds.

The 17 previous counties in which homeowners, renters and businesses can apply for individual aid are Bertie, Beaufort, Bladen, Columbus, Cumberland, Edgecombe, Greene, Harnett, Hoke, Johnston, Lenoir, Nash, Pitt, Sampson, Robeson, Wayne and Wilson.

Additionally, 34 counties have been approved for federal funding to help cover the costs of responding to the storm. The funding will also help pay for storm debris removal.


The counties approved for storm response funding are Beaufort, Bertie, Bladen, Brunswick, Camden, Carteret, Chowan, Columbus, Craven, Cumberland, Currituck, Dare, Duplin, Edgecombe, Greene, Harnett, Hoke, Hyde, Johnston, Lenoir, Nash, New Hanover, Onslow, Pamlico, Pasquotank, Pender, Perquimans, Pitt, Robeson, Sampson, Tyrrell, Washington, Wayne, and Wilson counties.

Storm damage and losses from the hurricane and flooding must have occurred, as a result of Hurricane Matthew, beginning on Oct. 4.

FEMA officials said survivors are encouraged to register with FEMA as soon as possible. If you have phone and/or internet access, you may register in one of the following ways:
• Online at
• Download the FEMA Mobile App
• Phone 800-621-3362 (FEMA). Applicants who use 711 or Video Relay Service may also call
800-621-3362. Persons who are deaf, hard of hearing or have a speech disability and use a TTY may call 800-462-7585.
• The toll-free numbers are open from 7 a.m. to 11 p.m., seven days a week.
• Multilingual operators are available.

FEMA said that those who do not have access to telephone or internet service should not worry as North Carolina Emergency Management and FEMA are coming to them as well. Teams of State and FEMA disaster survivor assistance specialists will soon be moving into affected communities to help people register for assistance. Additionally, disaster recovery centers are planned to open in the near future in affected counties.

Assistance for those eligible can include grants for temporary housing and home repairs, and for other serious disaster-related needs, such as medical and dental expenses or funeral and burial costs.

Survivors should contact their insurance company to file their insurance claim. FEMA is unable to duplicate insurance payments. However, those without insurance or those who may be under-insured may still receive help after their insurance claims have been settled, FEMA said.

On Thursday, Gov. Pat McCrory said preliminary damage assessments are ongoing and officials anticipate that more counties will be added to the state’s disaster declaration in the coming days.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s