NC State’s Bradley Chubb wins Nagurski Trophy

N.C. State's Bradley Chubb (Jeff Reeves/CBS North Carolina)

CHARLOTTE, N.C. (WNCN) – Senior defensive end Bradley Chubb became the first North Carolina State player to win the Bronko Nagurski Trophy – which is awarded to the the best defensive player in college football.

Chubb is second in the FBS in tackles for loss and eighth in sacks this season.

He was chosen over four other finalists: Alabama safety Minkah Fitzpatrick, Iowa linebacker Josey Jewell, Houston tackle Ed Oliver and Georgia linebacker Roquan Smith.


“This is what happens if you just keep working,” N.C. State head coach Dave Doeren said of Chubb’s record-setting career. “This wasn’t a guy who was a five-star (recruit). This is a guy who made himself into one.”

Chubb was previously named the ACC’s 2017 Defensive Player of the Year after setting N.C. State records for tackles for loss (60) and sacks (26).

“He’s a dynamic player,” Boston College head coach Steve Addazio said. “He’s as good as there is in America without any doubt.”

In 2000, Wolfpack linebacker Levar Fisher was a finalist for the Nagurski Trophy.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s